Infinity Ward Details Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Progression System

In an attempt to combat rumors Infinity Ward provides details into Call of Duty: Modern Warfare's progression system

By Grayshadow, Posted 18 Oct 2019

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is a few days away from a public release. To combat the rumors of pay-to-win microtransactions Activision and Infinity Ward have been releasing blog posts about how the game's multiplayer system will work. The last focusing on the Battle Pass and confirming no loot boxes. Now, Infinity Ward has provided details about the progression system.

Call of Duty,Modern Warfare,NoobFeed,

First off, players will unlock loadout options such as Killstreaks and Field Upgrades through Enlisted Ranks. Permanent upgrades will be provided through Seasonal Officer Ranks and provide attachments and camos through Weapon Levels.

Similar to the original Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, you will gain levels through normal gameplay. You'll choose from 3 default loadouts before getting access to customized loadouts at level 4. 

What are some of the ways you can gain XP through normal gameplay?

·      By completing Multiplayer Matches, and Special Ops Operations and Missions.

·      By completing Daily Challenges, short objectives that are usually able to be completed within a play session.

·      By completing Challenge Missions; multi-step objectives that also result in other rewards (see below).

·      By completing Camo Challenges; which unlock variations of base weapon camos and also offer you XP boosts.

·      Once Officer Ranks are unlocked, there are additional Officer Rank Challenges (see below).

Players who reach level 55 can continue with their unlocks. Unlike the original Prestige System where you lost everything to re-level and unlock new items players will now progress through Officer Rank. This is a seasonal ranking system with 100 ranks and unique rewards. Each time you level up you'll unlock a new special challenge that provides experience and Seasonal Ribbon. Earning 10 ribbons will get you a Season Emblem and 100 will unlock an animated Ribbon. Reaching the maximum level in a season will get you a cosmetic Weapon Blueprint.

Similar to past games, players can earn extra experience by completing challenges and weapons will have their own experience system. Weapons' will have separate unlocks based on how much you use them, with Infinity Ward stating that there's an average of 50 unlocks per weapon.

The experience system is very much traditional in the Call of Duty sense. Leveling up and gaining new items. However, the biggest concern remains how Activision will handle post-launch microtransactions. Never forget, Call of Duty 4: Black Ops 4's Red Dot Sight purchase.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare launches on October 25th for PS4, PC, and Xbox One.

Adam Siddiqui,
Senior Editor, NoobFeed
Twitter | YouTube | Facebook

comments powered by Disqus

Related News


General Information

Platform(s): Xbox One, PS4, PC
Publisher(s): Activision
Developer(s): Infinity Ward, Raven Software, Beenox, High Moon Studios
Genres: First-Person Shooter
Themes: Military, Modern Warfare
Release Date: 2019-10-25

View All

Popular Articles